Governance/ Directorate


Khotso Mokhele

Khotso Mokhele (62)

BSc (Agriculture), MSc (Food Science),
PhD (Microbiology)

Khotso joined the AECI Board in 2016 and took up his position as Chairman in 2017. He is also Chairman of the Nominations Committee and a member of the Risk Committee. Khotso is Special Advisor to the Minister of Science and Technology, Chancellor of the University of the Free State, Chairman of Tiger Brands and Lead Independent Non-executive Director at Afrox.

Graham Dempster

Graham Dempster (62)

BCom, CA(SA), Harvard Business School, INSEAD AMP

Graham was appointed to AECI’s Board in 2016. He is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit and Nominations Committees. Graham is Chairman of Long4Life and a Non-executive Director of Imperial Holdings, Sun International and Telkom. He was previously an Executive Director of the Nedbank Group/ Nedbank Limited and the Chief Operating Officer of Nedbank Group.

Mark Dytor

Mark Dytor* (56)

HNDP (Metalliferous Mining), PMD (UCT)

Mark assumed his role as AECI’s Chief Executive in 2013. He was appointed to AECI’s Executive Committee in 2010 and to its Board in January 2013. Having joined Chemical Services Limited (“Chemserve”) as a sales representative in 1984, and after managing two Chemserve companies, Mark was appointed to Chemserve’s Executive Committee in 1998 and subsequently to its Board.

Zellah Fuphe

Zellah Fuphe (49)


Zellah joined the AECI Board in 2007 and chairs the Social and Ethics Committee. She is Executive Director — Corporate Services at Dimension Data. She was previously an Executive at Plessey where she served as Managing Executive of Plessey Broadband Investments and Managing Director of Plessey South Africa for a number of years. Zellah previously served on the Boards of Afric Oil (Chair), Engen, where she also chaired the Social Ethics Committee, Phembani Coal (Chair) (previously Worldwide Coal Carolina), the Oceana Group, Phembani (previously Worldwide African Investment Holdings) and the Unisa School of Business Leadership.

Godfrey Gomwe

Godfrey Gomwe (62)

BAcc, MBL, CA(Z), CD(SA)

Godfrey joined the AECI Board in 2015. He is Chairman of the Audit Committee and a member of the Remuneration and Nominations Committees as well as AEL Mining Services’ Financial Review and Risk Committee (“FRRC”). Godfrey has extensive experience as an Executive in the metals and mining industries. At the time of his early retirement in 2014, he was Chief Executive of Anglo American Thermal Coal and was also responsible for Anglo American’s manganese interests in the joint venture with BHP Billiton.

Mark Kathan

Mark Kathan* (47)

CA(SA), AMP (Harvard)

Mark is AECI’s Financial Director and Chief Financial Officer, which positions he took up in 2008. Prior to joining AECI, he held a senior finance position at Nampak and served on that company’s Group Executive Committee. In addition to overall responsibility for the Finance and Treasury functions, Mark oversees AECI’s Corporate Communications and Investor Relations, Legal and Secretariat, Internal Audit and IT functions as well as its Retirement Funds. He also plays a leading role in M&A activities.

Allen Morgan

Allen Morgan (70)

BSc, BEng (Elect), Pr Eng, CD(SA)

Allen joined the AECI Board in 2010. He is Chairman of the Risk Committee, a member of the Audit and Social and Ethics Committees as well as Chairman of the AEL FRRC. Allen spent his working life at Eskom and served as that company’s Chief Executive from 1994 until his retirement in 2000. Other directorships include BioTherm Energy, Imalivest Assets and Kumba Iron Ore.

Rams Ramashia

Rams Ramashia (60)

BIuris, LLB, LLM

Rams joined the AECI Board in 2010 and serves on the Social and Ethics, Risk, Nominations and Remuneration Committees. He is a member of the Board of Anglo American South Africa where he serves on the Risk and Audit Committee and chairs the Social and Ethics Committee. He is Non-executive Chairman of Rand Refinery and also chairs that company’s Nomination and Remuneration Committee. In 2017 Rams was appointed to the board of the Mineworkers Investment Company where he serves on the Remuneration Committee. He is past Chairman of BP Southern Africa, SAPREF and the South African Petroleum Industry Association. Between 2000 and 2004 he was Director-General of the National Department of Labour and government Chief Negotiator at the National Economic Development and Labour Council. Rams is a practising advocate of the High Court and a member of the Pretoria Society of Advocates.

Philisiwe Sibiya

Philisiwe Sibiya (41)


Philisiwe joined the Board and the Audit Committee on 27 February 2018. Over the past 15 years, she served as Chief Executive Officer of MTN Cameroon and as Chief Financial Officer of MTN South Africa. More recently, she founded her own private equity company.